Why I Don’t Like Confrontation: A Memoir

Today I went to schedule a drive for tomorrow at the place where I took Driver’s Ed.

If you don’t know what a “drive” is, let me explain. For my driver’s ed class, I had/have to have 6 or so in-car sessions where I apparently learn how to drive. First of all, I’ve been driving for 10 months. I’m pretty sure I already know how to drive. I’m not a pro or anything, but seriously… argh.

I asked the guy at the front desk (aka the guy who owns the place, aka the guy who scares me aka… bleh) if he had any time available for tomorrow, or Sunday. He looked at me like I was an alien. “That is impossible,” he said in his scary Russian accent. What, does he think I’m 6? Just tell me whether or not there is a slot available this weekend, and I can be on my way.

But nooo, then he had to check when my last drive was (erm, 8 months ago?)… this took 15 minutes, because apparently he couldn’t see the date clearly marked on the sheet that listed the drives I had gone on. Argh.

Then, he asked if I could come in after school to take a drive. I said the earliest I could come in was 4, and once again, he looked at me like I was an alien. “What time does your school get out?” “3.30” “What kind of school is that?!” “Ummm, a normal school?” (the last part was in my head)

And then he went on this rant about how I was apparently too busy to come in for a drive (well excuise moi but I have 4 hours of homework a night. Drives are not happening in my near future), but I had enough time to text and such. I wanted to punch him in the face right then and there.

And then he kept getting more pissed about how I missed a drive (so not true, the receptionist person thought I was signed up for one BUT I DIDN’T SIGN UP FOR ONE) and blah blah blah.

All this time, he was treating me like I was a 6 year old that couldn’t do anything for herself. Argh. He infuriates me.

Lalala I’m off to read a book and (eventually) go to sleep for around 10 hours. How I love the weekend. And skiing, which I might do tomorrow 🙂 🙂

Until next time, Em 🙂

3 thoughts on “Why I Don’t Like Confrontation: A Memoir

Leave a Reply

