Looks like I’m becoming a barista!

Soon I will be achieving two things on my bucket list (actually, four, but I’ll get to the rest later)

1. Be a barista – so ever since I first walked into this cute coffee shop in my town, I decided I was going to work there. This was last summer, when I was a lowly 14 year old. Yesterday I signed up for a barista class at the teen union building in my town, where I learn how to make coffee and be a good barista or something along those lines. Finally my dream of working at that coffee shop with the super comfy couch that swallows you when you sit down will come true! And the class ends right after I turn 16!

2. Develop film in a darkroom – so this has been my dream forever. And when I was looking through the catalog of classes and programs offered in my town (the same catalog where the barista class was featured in), I found a PHOTOGRAPHY CLASS. WHERE YOU DEVELOP FILM. IN A DARK ROOM. I went on the website they listed, but sadly you couldn’t sign up. I will be checking like every three days. Anyways, here is a picture of the camera that my mom dug out of our cabinet when I asked if we had a manual or automatic camera… I was thinking of those cheap cameras that you can get developed at Walgreens or something, but this is what she pulled out. IT’S A DREAM OF MINE TO USE A MANUAL CAMERA, WITH THE MACRO TWISTY-THING. A DREAM OF MINE, I TELL YOU! This thing is from like, the 70s or 80s… and can I just say it is the most beautiful camera I have ever seen. Even though it weighs like 5 pounds. I guess that’s why they have the shoulder strap (made of real leather *faint* not the fabric ones they make now)

I’m not sure what all the switches are for, but they look AWESOME

3. Do a handstand (also ties in with Do a backflip, but first I have to Do a handstand and Do a bridge, so…) – I went to horse camp with this girl who is the state champion for Level 5 gymnastics. And she was like 12 at the time. So everyone asked her if she could do a backflip for us, and she did it amazingly. Then I asked her if she could teach me how to do one, and she taught me how to do a handstand and bridge. Now, my handstand is NOT perfect. Or even close. I either don’t get high enough or I go too far and fall straight on my back, resulting in a coughing fit that lasts for 3 minutes and a really sore back. But hey, I’m learning.

4. Learn to springboard dive – So, it’s a dream of mine to learn how to dive, ever since I saw David Boudia and Nick McCrory and Kristian Ipsen and Troy Dumais in the platform synchro and 3m synchro Olympic trials. I was instantly captivated and wanted to learn how to do it RIGHT THEN AND THERE. So when I found out there’s a team literally 5 minutes from my school (and there’s one 5 minutes from my house, but my school isn’t close to my house), I immediately started thinking about all the fun times I would have there. The team starts in January though, so that’s sad.

Until next time, Em 🙂

Leave a Reply

